Prey Review

This is my very first review.

I am by no means a professional. I am just taking what I’ve seen out of the game I played and I am going to offer my opinion of it as well as an overall score. I think the world can only benefit from more player, unbiased reviews that aren’t influenced by anything other than what they have experienced. So without further ado, here is my Prey review.

20170515142303_1What is Prey about?

Prey is a FPS action RPG video game in a futuristic setting on board a space station called Talos I. You play a character named Morgan Yu, one of two brothers who now head a company called TranStar which seems to invent many innovative creations. One of which is the Neuromod, which in the game, gives you your skill points. After the beginning of the game, events transpire and you are against a mysterious alien species called the Typhon. Not only that, but it seems there are shady things going on with Transtar and your brother, Alex.

The game has been compared to others such as System Shock, Bioshock and Deus Ex. I have only played two of these games, but those opinions aren’t far from the truth. The skill system does give a very Bioshock feel and the setting does remind me of Deus Ex…..just on a space station. While some people don’t like this form of creation, saying Arkane Studios is just copying other games, in my opinion, it doesn’t make it any less of an experience. It does bring its own moves to the floor in a way.

20170515150726_1.jpgThis game actually scares me.

The most common enemy in the game are mimics, tiny four legged creatures that can turn into any object. And I mean any object. From a bar stool to a box of ammo you can pick up. This may get old to some people, but unless you actually see a mimic crawl around and turn into that object, there’s almost no way to see that the object is something it’s not. The game also gives a detailed explanation on how the little creatures do this too. It doesn’t simply morph into the the object, creating a clone.20170516164504_1.jpg

20170515150147_1The mimics aren’t the only threat on the station. Early on, you’re also introduced to a stronger, larger Typhon organism called a phantom. This one is more human-like but each one has different “psychonic” powers. While not that big of a threat once you invest your skill points in appropriate areas, these creatures are used for the occasional jump scare. I’m not going to tell you exactly where or when this happened, but one did seem to jump out at me from a mirror-like video screen. I immediately shot the mirror, thinking it was there, then paused the game and watched some TV for a few minutes. Once you think you’re comfortable roaming around Talos I, the Typhon throw something else at you.

20170515150101_1.jpgLet’s move on to the gameplay itself.

The FPS concept is not bad. I say not bad because the game removes any iron sights from the guns to replace it with a button for any psychonic powers you choose to learn. This only keeps me from getting that perfect shot, but it doesn’t really matter that much. It seems the Typhon don’t even have a head to shoot at anyway, so getting that awesome 360 no scope ladder stall head shot isn’t going to work for anyone.

The GLOO gun offers a more unique weapon to the table. This is the second weapon you receive after the all powerful Hephaestus “Heffy” Twist & LOOP Handle Wrench. The GLOO gun does exactly what you think and more. If you hit a Typhon with a shot of GLOO, it will start to freeze them in place, giving you that one-two punch we remember from Bioshock. Not only does it give you an advantage in combat, but you can use it to scale new heights. Hitting a solid surface with the GLOO makes a hardened bubble ledge appear. You can make a wall ramp from one floor to another if you don’t know where a certain keycard is.

Later, the game offers you to learn certain psychonic abilities. You have a tool that you are able to scan the Typhon and turn their abilities into your own. I have only experimented with one of the more offensive abilities, but there are much more, such as the mimics ability to turn into other objects.

20170515143217_1Moving on to graphics.

The visuals aren’t the best I’ve seen. It seems that the developers were concentrating mainly on the details for the space station itself as well as the Typhon. Everything else just took a back seat compared to those two. The facial animations could use some work, but I kind of understand why they didn’t concentrate on that. In your travels throughout Talos I, it seems like you’re the only one there, so there didn’t seem much need to concentrate on facial graphics.

The Typhon are a scary, beautiful creation. All of them are dangerous. But the mimics move with grace before they violently attack you. There’s one Typhon organism that just latches to a wall, but creates this yellow mist that looks like it’s right out of a painting.
The world that was built is very in depth.

Magazines and books litter the station for you to read and find out more about how humanity achieved all of this. There’s excerpts from the first space elevator to cooking instructions. The game tells the history of the space race as well as about the organization the Yu’s manage. For a potentially short game, there is a lot of world building and a lot of potential for more.

If you read the emails each terminal have, the staff of Talos I have their own agendas as well. Some are caught stealing company secrets and some are playing a Dungeons and Dragons clone game.

There are still some issues with this game.

I’ve already gone over the lack of iron sights for the weapons. But the game has some more, game breaking bugs that need to be addressed. The most common I’ve heard of and have experienced myself is the PC version crashing. The game has been out for almost three weeks by the time this article is published and it still isn’t fixed. I don’t know if they don’t know what’s going on or if they’re leaving it in there as a “Hey, you’ve been playing for far too long. Take a break,” kind of deal.

I have also seen issues of people jumping through the world. I’m sure you know what I mean. You’re walking through Talos I and you see a ledge you want to get to. You jump up, but find yourself crawling over a rail lower than you expected and fall behind the game wall. You start falling and die because there was a literal hole in the game.

20170515143042_1My overall score: 8/10

This game is great. I can’t wait to finish this review and play some more. Yes, the game breaking issues are….game breaking. But as long as you’re careful and save often, it shouldn’t hinder you too much.

Talos I holds such mystery to it. It seems like they threw the twist out way too early, but still playing the game, I can’t help but feel that I’m still being messed with. I read every email on each computer I find because I want to find something that will confirm my suspicions.

Let me know how I did.

As I said above, this is my very first game review. I attempted to be as unbiased as possible, only going by my experience of the game. I know the review is late since the game came out May 5th, but let’s just say this is a practice run. Any feedback would be very much appreciated, thank you.

Leave a Reply

